My Mortgage Trainer Mortgage Education
Questions? Call us! (317) 566-0425


Login | Contact

California Continuing Education Requirements


California DBO Continuing Education Requirements


 

 

The California Department of Business Oversight (DBO) requires every DBO MLO  licenseee (in any approved status) to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CA-DBO specific education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/ + 1hr of CA-DBO law = 8

California BRE Continuing Education Requirements


The California Bureau of Real Estate (BRE) requires every BRE licenseee (in any approved status) to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). Number of hours is 3/2/2/1 = 8

It should be noted that the biggest difference between DBO and BRE is that DBO licensees are required to take the one-hour of California-DBO specific education, while BRE licensees do not.

You can view our California DBO 1 Hour Continuing Education course option below. If you haven't completed your annual 8 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 7 & 8 Hour SAFE CE options. Our SAFE 7 & 8 hour courses are valid in all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

The deadline to complete CE is December 31, 2020. However, MLOs in California are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

Pre-licensing Requirements

If you are not already a licensed MLO in the state of California you must complete Pre-licensing Education (PE), not Continuing Education (unless you have been instructed by the NMLS to do so). Check out our California Pre-licensing Education page for more details.


1 Hour CA-DBO SAFE: Complying with California Mortgage Law (#11451)

This 1 Hour California-DBO state-specific SAFE State Law and Regulations continuing education course (11451) is approved by NMLS&R and meets California’s requirement for one (1) hour of California-DBO state-specific education.
[Course Details...]

$39.00



©2019 My Mortgage Trainer, Inc . 8420 Masters Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46250 . phone 317-566-0425 . fax 866-399-4029. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080