New Mexico PE
New Mexico states that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 9 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives), and 3 hours of New Mexico-specific state law instruction.
If you haven't completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options.
As mentioned, New Mexico has a 3-hour state specific pre-licensing education course requirement. Please view our New Mexico PE course options below.
Continuing Education Requirements
If you are already a licensed MLO in New Mexico, you don't need to take PE (unless you have been instructed by the NMLS to do so). You do need to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education every year following the completion of your PE requirements. Click here if you need to complete your continuing education and select the 7 or 8 hour course that meets your needs. Additionally, check out our New Mexico CE page to see our New Mexico 1 Hour CE course options.