New Jersey PE
New Jersey states that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO or a Qualified Individual are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 8 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives), and 4 hours of New Jersey-specific state law instruction.
If you haven't completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options.
As mentioned, New Jersey has a has a 4-hour state specific pre-licensing education course requirement. Please view our New Jersey PE course options below.
Continuing Education Requirements
If you are already a licensed MLO in New Jersey, you don't need to take PE (unless you have been instructed by the NMLS to do so). You do need to complete at least 12 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education every year following the completion of your PE requirements. Click here if you need to complete your continuing education and select the 7 or 8 hour course that meets your needs. Additionally, check out our New Jersey CE page to see our New Jersey 2 Hour CE course options.