Minnesota states that individuals seeking to be licensed as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).
Minnesota does not have any state specific PE requirements in addition to the initial 20 hours of SAFE education.
If you haven't completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options
Continuing Education Requirements
If you are already a licensed MLO in Minnesota, you don't need to take PE (unless you have been instructed by the NMLS to do so). You do need to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS-approved continuing education every year following the completion of your PE requirements. Click here if you need to complete your continuing education and select the 7 or 8 hour course that meets your needs. Additionally, check out our Minnesota CE page to see our Minnesota 1 Hour CE course options.