My Mortgage Trainer Mortgage Education
Questions? Call us! (317) 566-0425


Login | Contact

California PE 

  

 

 

Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

The California-DBO (Department of Business Oversight) states that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which must include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 10 hours of undefined elective education plus 2 hours of CA-DBO state-specific law.

Please see below for our options for the California 2 Hour state-specific pre-licensing education course.  

The California BRE (Bureau of Real Estate) states that individuals seeking licensure as an MLO are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education that includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, and 12 hours of undefined elective education.  CA BRE does not have a state-specific education requirement.

 If you haven't completed your initial 20 hours of SAFE education, click here to view our 20 Hour SAFE options

Continuing Education Requirements

California DBO:  Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which must include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of CA-DBO specific education (referred to as an elective). 

California BRE:  Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which must include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one (1) additional hour of undefined (referred to as an elective). CA BRE does not have a state-specific continuing education requirement.

Click here if you need to complete your continuing education and select the 7 or 8 hour course that meets your needs.   Additionally, check out our California CE page to see our California-DBO 1 Hour CE course options.


2 Hour CA-DBO SAFE: Understanding California Mortgage Law (#10950)

This 2 Hour CA-DBO Safe: Understanding California Mortgage Law pre-licensing education elective course has been approved by Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) and meets the two (2) hours of CA State Law defined electives law and rules concerning
[Course Details...]

$69.00



©2019 My Mortgage Trainer, Inc . 8420 Masters Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46250 . phone 317-566-0425 . fax 866-399-4029. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080