My Mortgage Trainer Mortgage Education
Questions? Call us! (317) 566-0425


Login | Contact

 

Florida State Licensing Requirements

Contact

Division of Finance
Bureau of Regulatory Review
200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0376
850-410-9895

 

Education Requirements

High School Diploma or GED
20 Hours Pre-licensing Education
8 Hours Continuing Education

Florida does not have any state specific education requirements other than testing.

Highlights

Brick and Mortar State: No
Expiration: Dec. 31 annually
License Fee: $195 +$30 NMLS
Guaranty fund fee: $20
 

 

Who is required to be licensed

This license is required for an individual who, directly or indirectly, solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan, accepts or offers to accept an application for a mortgage loan, negotiates or offers to negotiate the terms or conditions of a new or existing mortgage loan on behalf of a borrower or lender, processes a mortgage loan application, or negotiates or offers to negotiate the sale of an existing mortgage loan to a noninstitutional investor for compensation or gain. The term includes the activities of a loan originator as defined by the federal S.A.F.E. Act.

 

Pre-requisites for license applications

  • Form MU4 filed through NMLS
  • Statutorily required application fee and guaranty fund fee paid
  • Completion of 20 hours NMLS approved pre-licensing education
  • Passing test score on both the National and State components of the MLO SAFE Test
  • FBI criminal history background check results
  • State criminal history background check results
  • Authorization for credit report
  • Provide name of school and date high school diploma or equivalent was received. This will be requested by the analyst who will process your application. Do not attempt to send this information until you have received notification that this license item was created in NMLS.
  • Must be 18 years of age or older.

The Florida Office of Financial Regulation will not begin its review of an application until all the items listed above have been received. Once an application has been deemed received, the NMLS status will change from “Pending-Incomplete” to “Pending-Review”. Once the status has been changed to “Pending-Review” the application will be reviewed and deficiencies will be added as license items in NMLS.

 


Need to purchase Pre-licensing or Continuing Education Courses?

Use the links below for course schedules and information about NMLS Approved Pre-licensing Education (PE) or Continuing Education (CE).

Florida NMLS Approved Pre-licensing Education Courses

Florida NMLS Approved Continuing Education Courses

NMLS Requirements and Fees


Processing Fees for State Licensure

Entity Initial Fee Annual Fee
Company $100 $100
Branch $20 $20
Individual $30 $30

Processing Fees for Federal Registration

Entity Initial Fee Annual Fee
Company $100 $100
Branch $60 $0
Individual $30 Jan-June
$60 July-Dec
$30 ($0 if initial registration July-Dec of same year)

Professional Standards Fees

Item Fee
Criminal Background Check Livescan $39
or
Print Card Capture $39, plus $10 Card Packet Fee

This fee is charged at each new application for licensing, or new registration request. Single charge regardless of how many licenses are applied for in a single filing.

Click here for more information about the Criminal Background Check process.
Testing $92 National Component
$69 State Component (per state)

Beginning April 1, 2013 the Uniform State Test will be included in the National Component which replaces several individual state components.

Click here for more information about the NMLS Testing process
Credit Report $15

This fee will be charged at each new application for licensing if it does not contain a credit report that is less than 30 days old. Single charge regardless of how many licenses are applied for in a single filing.

Click here for more information about the NMLS Credit Check process

Notice: The information provided on this page is not legal advice and is shared for educational purposes only. The information provided is not a complete statement of all licensing requirements, additional licensing requirements may be required by state and/or other agencies.

Other's who searched for this page also found these pages useful:

My Mortgage Trainer Home Page
My Mortgage Trainer Course Catalog
SAFE 20 Hour Pre-licensing Courses and Study Material
SAFE 7 & 8 Hour Continuing Education Courses
My Mortgage Trainer Current Webinar Schedule

My Mortgage Trainer is approved by the NMLS to deliver National Pre-licensing and Continuing Education in all 50 states. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080.

 

Last Updated ( Monday, 24 February 2014 )
 
©2019 My Mortgage Trainer, Inc . 8420 Masters Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46250 . phone 317-566-0425 . fax 866-399-4029. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080