My Mortgage Trainer Mortgage Education
Questions? Call us! (317) 566-0425


Login | Contact

 

 

 Hawaii State Licensing Requirements

Contact

Division of Financial Institutions Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant Street, Rm. 221
Honolulu, HI  96813
(808) 586-2820

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

Education Requirements

High School Diploma or GED
20 Hours Pre-licensing Education
8 Hours Continuing Education

Hawaii does not have any state specific education requirements other than testing.

Highlights

Brick and Mortar State: Yes
Expiration: Dec. 31 annually
License Fee: $265 +$30 NMLS

 

 

Who is required to be licensed

Any sole proprietor, whose company consists of one single individual, who for compensation or gain or in the expectation of compensation or gain: (A) Takes a residential mortgage loan application; or (B) Offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan.  

 

Pre-requisites for license applications

  • Criminal background check (federal and State)
  • Authorization for Credit Check to determine the financial responsibility, character, and general
    fitness of an individual licensee.  
  • Pre-Licensing Education of at least 20 hours approved by the NMLS
  • Testing.  An applicant for licensure as a mortgage loan originator shall pass, in accordance with the standards established by Hawaii Revised Statutes Chapter 454F, a qualified written national and Hawaii state test developed by the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Administeredby a test provider approved by the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System.  The test will include the following subject areas:  (1) ethics; (2) federal law and regulations pertaining to mortgage origination; (3) State law pertaining to mortgage origination; and (4) federal and State law, rules and regulations, including instruction on fraud, consumer protection, the nontraditional mortgage marketplace, and fair lending issues.
A sponsorship request must be submitted by your mortgage loan originator company before your
application request will be processed.  A sole proprietorship mortgage loan originator company cannot sponsor any other individual other than the sole proprietor.

Need to purchase Pre-licensing or Continuing Education Courses?

Use the links below for course schedules and information about NMLS Approved Pre-licensing Education (PE) or Continuing Education (CE).

Hawaii NMLS Approved Pre-licensing Education Courses

Hawaii NMLS Approved Continuing Education Courses

NMLS Requirements and Fees


Processing Fees for State Licensure

Entity Initial Fee Annual Fee
Company $100 $100
Branch $20 $20
Individual $30 $30

Processing Fees for Federal Registration

Entity Initial Fee Annual Fee
Company $100 $100
Branch $60 $0
Individual $30 Jan-June
$60 July-Dec
$30 ($0 if initial registration July-Dec of same year)

Professional Standards Fees

Item Fee
Criminal Background Check Livescan $39
or
Print Card Capture $39, plus $10 Card Packet Fee

This fee is charged at each new application for licensing, or new registration request. Single charge regardless of how many licenses are applied for in a single filing.

Click here for more information about the Criminal Background Check process.
Testing $92 National Component
$69 State Component (per state)

Beginning April 1, 2013 the Uniform State Test will be included in the National Component which replaces several individual state components.

Click here for more information about the NMLS Testing process
Credit Report $15

This fee will be charged at each new application for licensing if it does not contain a credit report that is less than 30 days old. Single charge regardless of how many licenses are applied for in a single filing.

Click here for more information about the NMLS Credit Check process

Notice: The information provided on this page is not legal advice and is shared for educational purposes only. The information provided is not a complete statement of all licensing requirements, additional licensing requirements may be required by state and/or other agencies.

Other's who searched for this page also found these pages useful:

My Mortgage Trainer Home Page
My Mortgage Trainer Course Catalog
SAFE 20 Hour Pre-licensing Courses and Study Material
SAFE 7 & 8 Hour Continuing Education Courses
My Mortgage Trainer Current Webinar Schedule

My Mortgage Trainer is approved by the NMLS to deliver National Pre-licensing and Continuing Education in all 50 states. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080.

 

Last Updated ( Monday, 24 February 2014 )
 
©2019 My Mortgage Trainer, Inc . 8420 Masters Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46250 . phone 317-566-0425 . fax 866-399-4029. NMLS Approved Course Provider #1400080